Mercury - Venus - Earth - Mars - Jupiter - Saturn - Uranus - Neptune - Pluto

First Spaceman: I'm hungry.
Second Spaceman: So am I, it must be launch time !

Moon(s): Cordelia, Ophelia, Bianca, Cressida, Desdemona, Juliet, Portia, Rosalind, Belinda and Puck , Miranda , Ariel , Umbriel , Titania , Oberon , Caliban, Sycorax, Prospero, Setebos, Stephano, and Trinculo

Equatorial diameter: 51,118 km (4.007 Earths)

Mass: 8.6832�1025 kg (14.536 Earths)

Equatorial gravity: 8.69 m/s2 (0.886 gee)

Named after: Greek god of the sky, and progenitor of the other gods

Orbital period: 30,707 Earth Days

Star sign:

Uranus is the seventh planet from the sun.  It is a gas giant and is the third largest by diameter and fourth largest by mass.

NASA's Voyager 2 is the only planet to have visited the planet and no other visits are being planned.  Launched in 1977, the Voyager made it's closest approach in 1986 before continuing it's journey to Neptune.

Uranus is composed primarily of rock and various ices, with only about 15% hydrogen and a little helium (in contrast to Jupiter and Saturn which are mostly hydrogen).

Uranus' atmosphere is 83% hydrogen, 15% helium and 2% methane.

Uranus has bands of clouds that blow around rapidly.

Uranus' blue color is the result of absorption of red light by methane in the upper atmosphere.

Like other gas planets, Uranus has rings.  They are very dark, composed of farily large particles ranging up to 10 m in diameter.  There are 11 known rings, al very faint.


A picture of Uranus

What do you call a loony spaceman ?
An astronut !

Back to Main Page.